Skip to content

James J. Rhatigan

February 24, 2010

James J RhatiganJames J. Rhatigan became the Dean of Students at Wichita State University (WSU) at the age of 30, making him the youngest person to serve in that capacity in institutions of 10,000 and above. He was named Vice President for Student Affairs in 1970 and held that position until 1996, serving six years as Senior Vice President before his retirement in 2002. Rhatigan earned the rank of Professor in 1985, through the regular tenure and promotion process, and he continues to work as a Consultant at the WSU Foundation. In 1996 the 170,000 sq. ft. student union at WSU was renamed the Rhatigan Student Center. Rhatigan is particularly proud of the fact that people who served on his staff have gone on to very successful work elsewhere, including two college presidents.

Within NASPA, Rhatigan served in a number of positions including president (1975-1976). He was the NASPA Historian for about 30 years, and was active in the creation of the NASPA Regions and wrote the original paper on the role of the Regional Vice President (early 70s). He received the Fred Turner Award in 1980 and the Scott Goodnight Award in 1987, making him the first person to win both awards.

B.A. Coe College (American History) M. A. Syracuse University (American History) Ph.D. University of Iowa (Student Personnel Administration).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: